Upcoming Texas Events!

Western Rice Belt Conference and Texas Rice Council Annual Meeting

January 18, 2017

The annual Western Rice Belt Production Conference will be held on Wednesday, January 18, 2017 at the El Campo Civic Center.

Registration for the conference will begin at 8:00 a.m., with the remainder of the program to begin at 8:15 a.m. After a catered lunch, provided by area agribusiness sponsors, the program will conclude at 2:30 p.m.

This joint effort of our Western Rice Belt planning committee, The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service, U.S. Rice Producers Association, and Texas A&M AgriLife Research will offer growers and others the opportunity to hear presentations from the top Extension and Research scientists from Texas as well as respected individuals from the rice industry. Topics and speakers will include: Association updates from U.S. Rice Producers and USA Rice; Price Risk Management Tools, Dennis Delaughter; Rice Market Inventory and Outlook, Thomas Wynn; Rice Disease Management Update, Dr. Shane Zhou; Weed Management Update, Dr. Muthu Bagavathiannan; Insect Management in Rice, Dr. Mo Way; Pesticide Laws and Regs Update, Greg Baker; Financial Risk Management, Silveus Financial; and a Rice Policy Update from Dr. Joe Outlaw. The Texas Rice Council will also conduct their Annual Meeting in conjunction with the 2017 Western Rice Belt Conference. The Texas Rice Council will conduct their producer elections during the lunch hour, following the announcement of the Rice Poster Contest.

For more information, contact the Texas AgriLife Extension office in Matagorda County at 979-245-4100; or Colorado County at 979-732-2082; or Wharton County at 979-532-3310; or go to http://wharton.agrilife.org and click on Events to view a flyer for the Rice Conference. 2 1Ž2 CEU’s (1 L&R and 1 1Ž2 IPM) for TDA Pesticide Applicators will be awarded at this event. CCA hours have been applied for and will be offered pending approval. Pesticide Applicators are reminded to provide their Pesticide Applicator License number at registration.

Who should attend?

Doing Business with Cuba will help export service providers, food processors and distributors, agricultural producers, and policy makers to better understand the Cuban market for U.S. agricultural, food products and associated regulations.

There is No Fee for this event, but Seating is Limited, so Register Early!

Please Register by January 20, 2017

Click the button below to download the brochure and registration form.

Send the completed form to:

Texas-Cuba Trade Alliance
Cynthia Thomas
Direct Dial: 972-527-7505

The U.S. Has a Trade Embargo with Cuba, but…

Do you wonder about the future of U.S.-Cuba trade relations?

Did you know that you can now export food, agricultural, and other products or services to Cuba?

Did you know that you can now import certain items from Cuba?

Have you ever considered traveling to Cuba for business?

The Texas-Cuba Trade Alliance Has Answers and Wants You to be Informed on…

JANUARY 23, 2017
Member Lounge 
State Capital Annex, (Room E2.1002)
Austin, TX

Doing Business with Cuba is designed to provide the information, education, and contacts crucial to facilitating successful business relations with Cuba.

The Texas-Cuba Trade Alliance, founded in February 2003, serves as an information and educational resource for Texans with interest in Cuba. All programs are open to the public. For more information, please visit the TCTA website at www.tcta.us.


  • Texas Rice Council
  • Texas Rice Producers
  • Texas Rice Producers Legislative Group
  • Texas Rice Research Foundation
  • Texas Rice Improvement Association
  • Texas Rice Industry Coalition for the Environment (R.I.C.E.)
  • Texas Resources



25722 Kingsland Blvd., Ste. 203 • Katy, Texas 77494• Phone: 713-974-7423 • Fax: 713-974-7696
USRPA does not discriminate in its programs on the basis of race, color, national origin, gender, religion, age, disability, political beliefs, or marital/family status. Persons with disabilities who require alternative means for communication of information (such as Braille, large print, sign language interpreter) should contact USRPA at 713-974-7423..