Washington Update

January 20, 2023
Republican Steering Committee selects members of the House Committee on Agriculture for the 118th Congress  
On Monday, January 16, the House Republican Steering Committee selected the Republican members who will serve on the House Agriculture Committee for the 118th Congress. The returning members selected to serve on the Committee include:
Rep. Glenn "GT" Thompson (PA-15)Chairman,
Rep. Austin Scott (GA-08)
Rep. Scott DesJarlais (TN-04)
Rep. Doug LaMalfa (CA-01)
Rep. David Rouzer (NC-07)
Rep. Trent Kelly (MS-01)
Rep. Don Bacon (NE-02)
Rep. Dusty Johnson (SD-At Large)
Rep. Jim Baird (IN-04)
Rep. Tracey Mann (KS-01)
Rep. Mary Miller (IL-15)
Rep. Barry Moore (AL-02)
Rep. Kat Cammack (FL-03)
Rep. Brad Finstad (MN-01)  

The new members selected to serve on the Committee include
Rep. Frank Lucas (OK-03)
Rep. John Rose (TN-06)
Rep. Ronny Jackson (TX-13)
Rep. Mark Alford (MO-04)
Rep. Lori Chavez-DeRemer (OR-05)
Rep. Monica De La Cruz (TX-15)
Rep. John Duarte (CA-13)
Rep. Nick Langworthy (NY-23)
Rep. Max Miller (OH-07)
Rep. Marc Molinaro (NY-19)
Rep. Zach Nunn (IA-03)
Rep. Derrick Van Orden (WI-03)  

Secretary Vilsack comments on the upcoming farm bill  
Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack expressed that he wants the next farm bill to include reforms for disaster relief and focus more on farmers who haven’t done as well financially in recent years. Secretary Vilsack said that existing disaster programs are not designed for addressing varying regional needs or cover damage from unusual storms. He also announced a new round of assistance under the temporary Emergency Relief Program USDA created with $10 billion in ad hoc disaster funding authorized last year for losses in 2020 and 2021. 
Chairman Thompson hosts farm bill listening session
On January 13, House Agriculture Chairman GT Thompson (R-PA) hosted a listening session at the Pennsylvania Farm Show. He was joined by Reps. Chellie Pingree (D-ME), Austin Scott (R-GA), Doug LaMalfa (R-CA), Dwight Evans (D-PA), Dan Meuser (R-PA), Mary Miller (R-IL), Mark Alford (R-MO), and Derrick Van Orden (R-WI) to receive stakeholder from members of the agricultural community as they prepare for the upcoming farm bill.
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram